EDITION : English/Korean


Korean Now Names The Best K-pop Boy Groups Ever! Is Your Favorite BB Here?

by Victoria Marian Belmis / Sep 10, 2021 04:20 AM EDT

Is your favorite K-pop boy group included in the recent listing for the best K-pop boy group of all time? Find out below!

On the 7th of September, "KOREA NOW" (a YouTube channel that is run by Yonhap News, a Korean media outlet) gave their choice of the top ten best K-pop boy groups of all time and the list was pretty accurate.

Aside from the current popularity of the K-pop boy groups, they based the ranking off of total sales, number of tours, ability to perform, number of awards attained, the length of being active, and the talent of the members.

Without further ado, here are the picks of "KOREA NOW" for the best K-pop boy groups of all time:


SEVENTEEN is currently a 13-member (S.coups, Wonwoo, Mingyu, Vernon, Woozi, Jeonghan, Joshua, DK, Seungkwan, Hoshi, Jun, The8, and Dino) K-pop boy group that made their debut in 2015 under Pledis Entertainment.


Currently consisting of 6 members; Shownu, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Joohoney, and I.M., MONSTA X was birthed through the survival show "No.Mercy" and is currently produced by Starship Entertainment. MONSTA X debuted in 2015.

#8. NCT

SM Entertainment's NCT is a K-pop boy group that was promoted in 2016. The 23 members are Taeyong, Taeil, Johnny, Yuta, Kun, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, WinWin, Jungwoo, Lucas, Mark, Xiaojun, Hendery, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, YangYang, Shotaro, Sungchan, Chenle, and Jisung.

The current sub-units of NCT are NCT U, NCT 127, NCT Dream and WayV.

#7. 2PM

JYP Entertainment trainees went through the survival program "Hot Blood Men." The 11 chosen members were then called "One Day." Following this, the group was split into two; 2PM and 2AM. 

2PM then made their debut in 2008. At present, the K-pop boy group has 6 members; Jun. K, Nichkhun, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Junho and Chansung.

#6. TVXQ!

Although previously consisting of 5 members, SM Entertainment's TVXQ is currently a duo consisting of Yunho and Changmin. The K-pop boy group made its debut in 2003.

#5. SHINee

SM Entertainment's SHINee made its debut in 2008 and is currently made up of 4 members; Onew, Key, Minho, and Taemin. Initially consisting of 5 members, Jonghyun sadly passed away in 2017.

#4. Super Junior

Super Junior made their debut in 2005 under SM Entertainment and is currently made up of 10 members; Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Siwon, Donghae, Ryeowook and Kyuhyun.

#3. EXO

EXO debuted in 2012 under SM Entertainment. At present, EXO has 9 active members; Suho, Xiumin, Lay, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai, and Sehun.


YG Entertainment's BIGBANG made its debut under YG Entertainment in 2006 and is currently made up of 4 members; G-Dragon, T.O.P, Taeyang and Daesung.

#1. BTS

Aside from being known as the biggest musical group in the world, BTS is also known for its underdog story. RM, Jin, Suga, J-Hope, Jimin, V and Jungkook made their debut in 2013 with Big Hit Entertainment.

Like us and Follow us
© 2024 Korea Portal, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Editor's Pick

BLACKPINK Rosé Hinted Group’s Contract Renewal


May 18, 2023 PM EDT - Serena Martinez

IU’s Agency Releases Statement on Plagiarism Accusations


May 12, 2023 AM EDT - Serena Martinez

BTS Member RM Posts a Personal Update to Fans

RM from BTS

May 08, 2023 AM EDT - Serena Martinez

Connect with us : facebook twitter google rss

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't Miss

Real Time Analytics