EDITION : English/Korean


‘Escape From Mogadishu,’ Song Joong Ki, YoonA And More Win Big At 42nd Blue Dragon Film Awards

by Victoria Marian Belmis / Nov 27, 2021 05:54 AM EST
YoonA, Jeon Yeo Been, and Song Joong Ki at 42nd Blue Dragon Film Awards

The movie "Escape From Mogadishu" swept the major categories at this year's Blue Dragon Film Awards, winning 5 crowns.

At the 42nd Blue Dragon Film Awards ceremony held at the KBS Hall in Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul on the 26th, "Escape From Mogadishu" won Best Picture, Best Director (Ryu Seung Wan), Best Supporting Actor (Heo Jun Ho), Best Art Direction (Kim Bo Muk), and the Audience Choice Award for Most Popular Film (3.61 million).

Director Lee Jun Ik's "The Book of Fish" also won trophies in five categories: Best Actor (Sol Kyung Gu), Best Screenplay (Kim Se Gyeom), Best Editing (Kim Jeong Hoon), Best Music (Bang Jun Seok), and Best Cinematography (Lee Eui Tae, Yoo Hyuk Jun).

"Three Sisters," a female narrative film directed by Lee Seung Won, won two awards: Best Actress (Moon So Ri) and Best Supporting Actress (Kim Seon Young). 

The Best New Actor award and Best New Actress award went to Jeong Jae Gwang for "Not Out" and Gong Seung Yeon for "Aloners," respectively. The new director award went to director Park Ji Wan, who directed "The Day I Died: Unclosed Case."

Meanwhile, Goo Kyo Hwan, Song Joong Ki, Girls' Generation's YoonA, and Jeon Yeo Been took home the Popular Star Award at the 42nd Blue Dragon Film Awards.

READ: Song Joong Ki Confirmed To Have Shin Hyun Been As A Co-Star In Upcoming Drama!

Check out the full list of winners at the 42nd Dragon Film Awards below.

Best Picture: "Escape from Mogadishu"

Best Director: Ryu Seung Wan ("Escape from Mogadishu")

Best Screenplay: Kim Se Kyum ("The Book of Fish")

Best Cinematography and Lighting: Lee Eui Tae, Yoo Hyuk Joon ("The Book of Fish")

Best Editing: Kim Jung Hoon ("The Book of Fish")

Best Music: Bang Joon Suk ("The Book of Fish")

Best Art Direction: Kim Bo Mook ("Escape from Mogadishu")

Best Technical Achievement: Jung Sung Jin, Jung Chul Min ("Space Sweepers")

Best New Director: Park Ji Wan ("The Day I Died: Unclosed Case")

Best Actor: Sol Kyung Gu ("The Book of Fish")

Best Actress: Moon So Ri ("Three Sisters")

Best Supporting Actor: Heo Joon Ho ("Escape from Mogadishu")

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sun Young ("Three Sisters")

Best New Actor: Jung Jae Kwang ("Not Out")

Best New Actress: Gong Seung Yeon ("Aloners")

Best Short Film: Choi Min Young ("Motorcycle and Hamburger")

Popular Star Award: Goo Kyo Hwan, Song Joong Ki, YoonA, Jeon Yeo Been

Audience Choice Award for Most Popular Film: "Escape from Mogadishu"

READ: 'Vincenzo Reunion' With Jeon Yeo Been, Upcoming Projects, & More, Song Joong Ki Spills The Tea!

Like us and Follow us
© 2022 Korea Portal, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Editor's Pick

BTS Member RM Arrives in New York


Nov 22, 2022 AM EST - Serena Martinez

Connect with us : facebook twitter google rss

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't Miss

K-WAVE - Dec 31, 1969 PM EST - Serena Martinez

BTS Member Jin Releases Statement About His Upcoming Enlistment

K-WAVE - Dec 31, 1969 PM EST - Serena Martinez

TWICE Reaches 10 Million Cumulative Sales in South Korea Alone

K-WAVE - Dec 31, 1969 PM EST - Serena Martinez

Blockberry Creative Removes Chuu from LOONA

K-WAVE - Dec 31, 1969 PM EST - Serena Martinez

Red Velvet Releases Fantasy-Themed ‘Birthday’ Music Video

Real Time Analytics