EDITION : English/Korean


Girls' Generation's YoonA Drops Solo Album 'A Walk To Remember' + 'Summer Night' MV & Leads Global iTunes Charts

by Jessica Rapir / May 31, 2019 07:37 AM EDT
Girls' Generation's YoonA drops solo album 'A Walk To Remember' + 'Summer Night' MV. Photo by Girls’ Generation/Facebook

Girls' Generation member YoonA has finally dropped her new special solo album, titled A Walk to Remember. The Korean female idol also released the music video for the title track of the EP, "Summer Night," and just less than a day after its release, it already topped the global iTunes charts.

After teasing her new album with a video and several concept photos, YoonA has released the highly-anticipated solo album on her 29th birthday on Thursday. A Walk To Remember has five tracks which include the lead track "Summer Night" and the song that she dedicates for her fans, titled "Promise."

YoonA also released a music video for the acoustic ballad, "Summer Night." The song conveys the sweet feelings that a couple in their relationship in a breezy summer night.

Reports have it that A Walk To Remember has already topped iTunes album charts in at least 10 countries. Additionally, the EP also peaked in domestic physical album charts and ranked first on China's largest music streaming site, QQ Music.

Although YoonA has done several solo singles in the past, A Walk To Remember is her first Korean solo album. She previously released her debut Chinese EP, Blossom, in August 2016.

YoonA is one of the most talented K-pop idols today. Aside from being in a female group, she can also act. Among her most notable K-dramas are You Are My Destiny in 2008 which gave her the Best New Actress award.

She also appeared in 2012 K-drama Love Rain, Prime Minister & I in 2013, The K2 in 2016, and The King in Love in 2017. After the release of a new album, many of her fans are also anticipating her comeback in K-drama.

Meanwhile, fans are also looking forward to a Girls' Generation comeback. In August last year, SM Entertainment introduced the second subgroup of Girls' Generation, named Oh!GG. It is composed of five members: Sunny, Taeyeon, YoonA, Yuri, and Hyoyeon. They successfully released their debut single album, Lil' Touch, in September.

Now, fans of the group, also called the SONE, speculated that some members of the group gave a hint of a possible comeback this year. Apparently, Oh!GG member Sunny recently shared a picture of herself enjoying a snack and she captioned it, "Since I've recharged my energy... Shall I slowly...?!"

It has been reported that bandmates Taeyeon and Yuri also left a comment of Sunny's post. Taeyeon apparently wrote, "Slowly slowly shall I try to recharge" while Yuri left a comment, "Let's slowly hang out~". All of these made fans speculate that the group is getting ready for a comeback.

Like us and Follow us
© 2019 Korea Portal, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Connect with us : facebook twitter google rss

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't Miss

Real Time Analytics