EDITION : English/Korean


Girls' Generation Comeback 2018: Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri, & YoonA Share Their Thoughts About New Unit Name Oh!GG

by Jessica Rapir / Sep 06, 2018 11:29 AM EDT
Girls' Generation members Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri, and YoonA share their thoughts about their new unit name Oh!GG. Photo by Girls’ Generation/Facebook

Girls' Generation is officially back! Although they have fewer members now, GG fans have welcomed the new unit and the girls' latest music with so much enthusiasm.

Girls Generation has launched a new unit this week and it is called Oh!GG. The new unit is composed of five members: Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri, and YoonA. The girls also dropped their first single as OH!GG and it is titled "Lil' Touch."

The group recently had a special live broadcast where they give updates about their activities as the new subunit. The girls also talked about their upcoming reality show that was filmed in France. The show, titled Girls For Rest, will premiere in June. YoonA revealed that the filming of the TV show served as a vacation as well as a healing experience for them.

They also opened up about their new unit name. Hyoyeon and Yuri said they personally did not expect that they will be named as Oh!GG.

"I was taken aback at first, but there were a lot of people who said it was really catchy the more you hear it. I think it's a really witty name," Yuri admitted.

Meanwhile, Girls' Generation fans, also called S♡NE, are thrilled to see the ladies as a group once again as they showcase their impressive vocals in the music video for "Lil' Touch." The MV features all five members in a more mature theme and stunning visuals. The video already garnered over seven million views since it was shared on YouTube on September 5. "Lil' Touch" was released as a digital single with the B-side "Fermata."

Girls' Generation initially formed in 2007. Ten years later, the group took a hiatus after members Seohyun, Tiffany, and Sooyoung decided to leave SM Entertainment. The Korean female group, however, was not disbanded. The remaining members became active in their solo careers.

YoonA appeared in Hyori's Homestay Season 2 this year and has been cast to play the female lead character in action film Exit alongside Oh My Ghost actor Jo Jung Suk. She also released her third solo single "To You" and had a fan meeting across Asia.

Yuri had dropped a collaboration single titled "Always Find You" with DJ Raiden earlier this year. She was also cast to appear in MBC's drama Dae Jang Geum Is Watching which is set to premiere in October 2018. In April, Hyoyeon has been introduced as DJ Hyo along with her new single titled "Sober" while Taeyeon recently had a concert tour in Japan.

Last month, SM Entertainment announced that Girls' Generation would be forming a new subunit and it will be composed of the five members who are still signed to the label. Oh!GG is the K-pop group's second subunit following TTS in 2012.

The first unit, which was composed of Taeyeon, Tiffany, and Seohyun, was responsible for the hit Twinkle EP. It was the first GG-related album that debut on the Billboard 200 where it peaked at No. 126 in the chart in May 2012.

Like us and Follow us
© 2019 Korea Portal, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Connect with us : facebook twitter google rss

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't Miss

Real Time Analytics